Since the movie “Out of Africa” debuted I have had fantasies about that house and that land. Recently I discovered the architectural firm WATG and had to literally tear myself away from their site. I have never seen such an array of incredible projects from any one firm.

The one that really got me though was the Sasakwa Lodge in Serengeti, Tanzania. It is operated by the Singita Grumeti Reserve and I WANT TO GO THERE!!!

The hilltop lodge was designed in the style of an East African colonial manor home. It has awe-inspiring views over the Serengeti plain and is on the migratory route crossed annually by more than a million wildebeasts as well as serving as the home of large herds of resident game according to the property management.

The lodge is made up of one to four bed suites arranged across seven cottages each with their own infinity pool and private gardens.

All photos are courtesy of WATG.

Then I discovered THIS and got REALLY excited- the company that does the real African Safari glamping (glamorous camping which is the only kind I like) complete with oriental carpets and antique gramaphones. Oh yeah Baby!

  Can’t you just hear that beautiful scratchy big band sound?

 Ahh, a little bit of The Ritz in the middle of nowhere.

photo slim paley

 All photos Calvin Cottar’s 1920 Safari Camps

Happy Friday dreaming.

If you own property in South Africa and need a great designer to make your dreams a reality CALL ME at 334 356 3652. 🙂

